Inaugural awards from student committee

Ella Rhodes reports on BPS recognition.

The BPS Student Committee has announced the first ever winners of two awards to celebrate the achievements of its members and the professionals who support them. Professor Niamh Stack (University of Glasgow) won the Professional Award for Outstanding Support, and recent Teeside University graduate Tracy Bushnall won the Undergraduate Award for Outstanding Contribution.

The professional award was created to honour professionals in psychology who have supported the Student Committee or advocated for students at a national level. Stack, also chair of the BPS Education and Training Board, said in an interview for the student newsletter, ‘This award means so much, particularly after the last 18 months. It has been the most challenging of times to work within psychology education and training at all levels, from secondary schools to undergraduates, to professional training qualifications through to maintaining professional development for established psychologists.

‘I am in awe of what students achieved in these circumstances but even more impressed by how students supported each other and supported us as staff… so to receive this acknowledgement from students at this time means so much.’

The undergraduate award aims to celebrate the work of undergraduate psychology students, or those who graduated within the last academic year, to students who have made a positive contribution to psychology, their local community, or who promoted student wellbeing. Recent psychology and counselling graduate Bushnall, also speaking to the student newsletter, said she thought the award was a mistake at first but felt happy and humble to have won. ‘The time I spent as a psychology student was intense and interesting. I met some fantastic student role models, who worked extremely hard to be at university in really difficult circumstances battling illness, working full time and managing a home and children, who kept me motivated and positive and I will always be grateful to them.’ 

The student committee awards will return in 2022. For more information see

BPS Members can discuss this article

Already a member? Or Create an account

Not a member? Find out about becoming a member or subscriber